March Book Haul

Hello and welcome! I’m Emily Croft and I’m here with my first ever spoiler-free book haul, so I hope you enjoy.

I haven’t gotten the time to read a lot this month, but this is what I did get to:

Maximum Ride Marvel comic  –  James Patterson (book Author), Marguerite Bennett (Comic author), Alex Sanchez (Illustrator)

I had heard some horrible reviews on this book-adaption, but I love Marvel, so I thought Hey – what the heck, right? Might as well. From the first page it lost me. It was not at like the book, and I feel they could have done better for Maximum Ride. Not something I would read twice.

Stars Above – Marissa Meyer

Ironic that I’m following up the disappointing review with an amazing one – but that’s what this was. Stars Above is a collection of short stories set after The Lunar Chronicles, and it kind of explains a lot of what happened to the characters afterward, which I liked. I don’t have a single fault – I would suggest this series to everyone.

Never Never – Brianna R. Shrum

 

I picked this up at the library because I’m in a huge Peter Pan phase at the moment. This book is about Captain Hook, before and after he came to Neverland – it was just amazing. I feel like Brianna Shrum really got Peter Pan’s character down, so you could actually see it as a retelling. You think you know how it ends, and you do, sort of, but not really. It’s really a twists-and-turns kind of book.

Maximum Ride Manga 9

So another Maximum Ride adaption. I actually like this one – granted Max is a blond (which she ISN’T) but otherwise it was good. One thing I didn’t like – as the Manga adaption goes on, it’s getting less and less like the books. The characters have totally different personalities – especially the main character – Max(imum) Ride. All in all, it was okay.

Twice Upon A Time – Wendy Mass

This was actually a re-read, because I loved this book. There’s three in the series, but I had started with this one (the 3rd. It’s one of those series you don’t need to read in order). It’s a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and it’s one of the best I’ve read. There’s a lot of backstory in it, which I love, and side characters that add so much depth it’s incredible. Wendy Mass is an amazing author, and I think you would just love her.

 

So that’s my March book haul; please come back next month for my next one and let me know if you have any books you want me to read\review.

7 thoughts on “March Book Haul

    1. Thank you! Stars Above was amazing – but if somehow you can’t get the book, you get all the same stories every month if you subscribe to Marissa Meyer’s monthly Newsletter. Let me know if you need a link 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awesome, got it 😊 Hey, you should go for it if you feel ready! It’s alright if you don’t hear back from her the first time. I’m sure a lot of now famous booktubers and book bloggers have been denied things they asked for. Don’t worry 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Comment on this persons's comment

