April Book Haul

Sorry for the late haul – my computer has been inactive and I have to use a tablet (which is really, really hard). Because of that, some of the books I read later in the month will be on next months haul. I hope you enjoy anyway!

Gordon Korman

Chasing The Falconers                                                                            

This was the last book in my book club until Fall. I’m going to be honest – I put it off. The cover threw me (I like to say that I don’t judge a book by it’s cover – but I do. All the time). It looked really tech-y, and I don’t really like books like that.

Nevertheless, I really enjoyed this book. It’s really short, and I felt like they stopped it where most books would be in the middle, but if I get a chance, I may check out the other books.

Great character development, and story line. 4\5

 

The Maze Runner

James Dashner

This book has gotten a lot of good reviews, and I liked the movie trailer, so I figured I’d give it a try.

I found this one to be hard to get into. I wasn’t fond of the way the author writes – at least, not at first – but I liked the idea of the story, so I forced my way through.

I am so, so glad I did. I really liked this book, and I can see why they made it into a movie. The whole idea is very original, and I cannot wait to read the second one.

5\5 Movie Review \ Full Spoiler-Free Review

 

Twilight

I had heard a lot of bad reviews on this one,  so I never really wanted to read it. But finally I decided that instead of just jumping on the Haters’ Bandwagon I wanted to have my own opinion. I mean, if it’s a movie, how bad can it be?

I got really tired in the beginning of hearing her drone on and on about how she wasn’t good enough and blah, blah, blah – I hope that changes in the rest of the books.

I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. I’ve never been into vampires very much, but I liked this and will read the rest of the series.

4.5\5   Full Spoiler-Free Review

 

New Moon – Twilight Saga Newmooncover.jpg

As you can tell, I enjoyed the first book enough that I ran out and got the second one.

It was good – I love the way Stephenie Meyer writes – but I found Bella to be very frustrating towards the end. She was always saying that she wasn’t good enough – I sensed little-to-no character growth here. And she didn’t really appreciate what was around her – all she thought about was Edward. That’s the basis, and I will make a spoiler-free review and a discussion to go further into my feelings about it.

4\5

 

So that was my April book haul. I hoped you enjoyed and will be back next month for the next one!

What are your opinions these books? Do you agree or disagree with my review? Would you have given them more\less stars? I’d love to hear your opinions!

 

Emily Croft

 

 

 

Comment on this persons's comment

