The Jungle Book (2016) REVIEW

 

Title: The Jungle Book

Release Date: April 15, 2016

Genre: Fantasy\Drama

Running Time:  1h  51m

Director: Jon Favreau

Cast: Neel Sethi, Ben Kingsley, Idris Elba, Bill Murray, Christopher Walken, Giancarlo Esposito, Scarlett Hanson, and Lupita Nyong’o.

 

 

I loved this movie.

I expected it to be different completely from the original, and from the trailers I thought it was very dark. And it wasn’t. Of course there were parts that were, but there was always that ‘sunny day’ right back again in the next scene, which kept a very childish air to it, and I liked that.

There were some parts that just seemed really intense for a kids movie – not that I mind, I am thirteen after all – but I just sat back, more processing what had just happened than anything. By the end I was fine – though I don’t think this is a movie for kids who are highly sensitive to that sort of thing.

The CGI was incredible – It made it all seem very real. I think that could have turned out really bad, but they did it well.

And the casting! It was perfect – Bill Murray as Baloo, Ben Kingsley as Bagheera, Christopher Walken as King Louie, Idris Elba as Shere Khan – to name a few.  I can’t even stress how accurate it is.

I thought it was very cool how they added in the original songs – And even when they didn’t sing, they quoted the lines, which I loved. It felt like a great tribute to the original movie, and it helped to keep the movie light.

All in all, it had the humor, and the action, and I already have a plan to buy it when it comes out.

5/5 stars

One thought on “The Jungle Book (2016) REVIEW

Comment on this persons's comment

