The Giver Movie REVIEW

The Giver

Release Date: September 11, 2014 (Brazil)

Genre: Fantasy/Drama

Running Time: 1h 40m

Rating: PG – 13

Director: Phillip Noyce

Cast: Brenton Thwaits, Odeya Rush, Cameron Monaghan, Emma Tremblay, Jeff Bridges, Meryl Streep, Taylor Swift & more

 

 

 

As far as accurate to the book…this movie wasn’t. At all. It had much more of a techy, futuristic feel to it than the book.

I didn’t actually mind it. I liked this movie as The Giver, even though it wasn’t like the book. I feel like the book may not have made the best movie for those people who haven’t read the book, and even for some of those who had.

That said, if you really, really liked the book, you probably won’t be too much a fan of the movie.

Even though I did like it, I don’t think that someone who hadn’t read the book would necessarily like the movie. You don’t get the depth of it as much, and the ending is kind of out there. If I hadn’t read the book, I’m not sure I would like the movie as much.

If action is what you want, you will like this movie. The Dystopian side of it is very exciting, and keeps you on edge.

As far as the cast goes – I liked it. Lily was great – and Jonas, Fiona and Asher were pretty much as I pictured them (if older).

The ending was just like the book – meaning it stopped without explanation. Without a sequel, a lot of the movie fans would be left hanging.

Overall, it was an “I’ll buy it…eventually” sort of movie.

3/5

Comment on this persons's comment

