The Hunger Games | Movie Review

The Hunger Games (2-Disc DVD + Digital Copy)

 

Title: The Hunger Games

Release Date: March 23, 2012

Genre: Fantasy\Science Fiction

Running Time: 2h 22m

Director: Gary Ross

Cast: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Elizabeth Banks,Woody Harrelson, Willow Shields, Amandla Stenberg, Lenny Kravitz, Alexander Ludwig & more

 

I watched this movie right after I read the first book (well, I bought it. Along with the next two…). I knew from the trailer that chances were, I was going to love it. There is too much to talk about, so I’m going to talk about it in categories.

 

Setting


I think the setting was perfect. A little different that how I imagined District 12, but I don’t mind that. The arena and the Capitol were perfect.

On a side note, I think they did a horrible job at the editing between scenes. I know that doesn’t really have anything to do with setting, but it is something I noticed. It threw off some of the tense scenes, and I hope that changes in the next three movies.

 

Story Line


We all know that a movie that is based off a book isn’t going to be exactly like the book. Especially in the case of The Hunger Games – the entire series is told from Katniss’ perspective, so they have to add in scenes for those moments that are just in her head, so she can explain what she’s thinking.

And that’s okay. For someone who hasn’t read the books, it will make the story much more enjoyable.

Overall, I liked the story line. There were a few things that, while I got why they changed them, I didn’t like. But they were small parts – it hardly matters in the end.

 

Cast


Ah, the big one. This is the most crucial part of any book-to-film adaptation. Getting them to look right is important, but it’s even more so to get their personality across. Having a blond Katniss, for example, is fine if her personality is shown correctly.

Katniss wasn’t blond, but that’s besides the point. And speaking of Katniss…

Katniss

I loved Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss! I thought she look right, and acted like her too – I’m so excited to see how well she continues to play her.

Gale

I know, I know – he was only in the movie for, like, four scenes. But I liked him anyway. I wasn’t sure about how he looked, but in the end, I was happy.

Peeta

Right from the start I liked him (same as in the book, actually…). And I think Josh Hutcherson was the perfect Peeta!

Primrose

She was perfect! I’m going to use that word a lot, by the way…

She looked right, and even though she was only in it for a short time, her character came across well.

Effie Trinket

She didn’t really look how I pictured her (probably more how they described in the book, though). I thought her wig could have been more pink, but that’s if I’m being picky. Her personality definitely came across, though.

Haymitch

He didn’t really look like how I pictured him, and I thought he was good. I think I can except him for the rest of the movies.

Cinna

He didn’t look at all how I pictured him.

Nevertheless, I still saw him as Cinna.

Rue & Thresh

Rue was amazing! It was heartbreaking to see her death (I had been spoiled for it before I read the book though, so it was no surprise). I liked Thresh – I liked him in the book and I like him in the movie.

Cato & Clove

I really liked Cato. Not to say I rooted for him or anything – but I like how his personality came across. Clove too. Though I pictured her different, I liked her anyway.

Other Tributes

I think the other tributes – like Foxface – were perfect. Granted they did have small parts, but I still thought they were good.

 

5/5

 


Buy THE HUNGER GAMES

         

Buy the first movie \ a two movie double-feature \ all four movies

3 thoughts on “The Hunger Games | Movie Review

  1. Great Review xx I loooove THG cast too. Jennifer Lawrence is the perfect Katniss. I liked how THG stayed fairly true to the books where as other movie franchises such as Divergent and The Maze Runner have drifted far apart from the books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Marvel Avengers Book Tag |

Comment on this persons's comment

