The Host Movie REVIEW

The HostTitle: The Host

Release Date: March 29. 2013

Genre: Thriller\Action

Running Time: 2h 5m

Director: Andrew Niccol

Cast: Saoires Ronan, Max Irons, Jake Abel, Diane Kruger, Chandler Canterbury, William Hurt, Boyd Holbrook & more

 

 

 

 

I read this book first (as I typically do) and just loved it – so naturally, I had to see the movie. I tried not to judge too much by the cover, but I will tell you I couldn’t tell who was Ian and who was Jared…

 

 

Setting


 

While the setting wasn’t exactly how I pictured it, I found that I liked it overall.

I did think that the Souls seemed to be more Sci-Fi\Advanced technology kind of thing, but maybe that was just something I missed in the book.

 

Cast


Before I start, you should know: there was no Walter. He never made an appearance. I was heartbroken, but I see how it was unnecessary.

Melanie & Wanderer\Wanda

First of all – she looks nothing like she did in the book. Also, she’s suppose to be from Mexico, and then they changed that to Louisiana. Fine.

And then they gave Melanie an on-and-off Louisiana accent. I get needing to have that distinction between Melanie and Wanderer, but still. There are other ways to do it. I found her personality overall to be much weaker.

The souls didn’t look  exactly like how I pictured, but other people thought differently, and it wasn’t a huge bother.

How Wanda looked after was okay, but I seriously would’ve preferred it to be different.

 

Jared

I thought he acted fairly well, and the casting was good. Nothing extraordinary, or anything, but satisfying.

 

Jamie

Jame was perfect! The casting and acting was great – couldn’t have done better.

 

Ian

Before I say anything; did anyone else notice that Luke Castellon is Ian???

Sorry, off-subject. But I felt the need to point it out.

I liked how Ian was done. While he didn’t look exactly right, his personality came across.

 

Jeb

I really liked how they portrayed Jeb. I didn’t know what to expect, but I was presently surprised.

 

Other Characters

Doc was good, and the rest of the side cast was satisfying enough.

 

 


Buy THE HOST

One thought on “The Host Movie REVIEW

  1. Haven’t read the book or watched the movie, but I do have it on my list to read and watch lol Thanks for the follow, love! Looking forward to chatting more:)

    Like

Comment on this persons's comment

