My Lady Jane | Review

Title: My Lady Jane

Author(s): Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows

Genre \ Themes: Royalty, Fantasy, Historical Alternate-Reality Fiction (does that count as a theme?)

Date Published: June 7, 2016

Cover Rating: 3.5/5

Received Through: Owlcrate Monthly Subscription Box

Buy: My Lady Jane

Synopsis:  At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.

Like that could go wrong.


I received this book in the July Owlcrate Box, and I put it off because I had other books to read, and I wasn’t sure about it (though the synopsis was intriguing – I love fantasy\shape shifters for those of you who don’t know) and I really regret not picking it up sooner.

 

This book was so funny. I actually had to put close the book for a second because I couldn’t see from the tears from laughing so hard.

So congrats Authors – first time a book has made me laugh out loud in, well, a long time.

 

It’s written like someone is telling you a story. So occasionally the ‘narrators’ will say things a little more modern, while the characters don’t and I like that. It fits the story very well, and it;s something I had personally never seen before.

 

I loved the fantasy element in here (you all know how I love my shape-shifters!), and it tied it great with the history of England.

 

Speaking of England – this book is in a sort of alternate-reality England, where it has the same history, but slightly changed. Main thing – Kind Richard was a lion shape-shifter (not a spoiler). So little things like that which I loved were woven into the story, making it quite clever.

 

I liked the characters more than I thought I would. I didn’t think I wouldn’t like them, I just assumed they would be a little meh. Needless to say, I really loved Jane, G (Gifford) and Edward! I especially liked G, and I think that may be because I used to be a bit obsessed with horses, so I just kind of, connected with him more; I dunno.

Jane was an amazing character as well – not as relatable as I thought she might be, but that was fine with me. She’s the bookworm that everybody loves to read about and that was fine with me.

Basically, I loved this book. If these three authors wrote anything else together (and I think they are) I wouldn’t hesitate to buy and read it.

 


(From left to right) Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand and Jodie Meadows all make up the Lady Janies.

They are all successful authors (none of whom I’ve read individually yet) who decided to band together and give this book a go (I’m so, so glad they did!)

To learn more about them, find their website, and more, visit their author page: The Lady Janies

5 thoughts on “My Lady Jane | Review

  1. When this book first released, I didn’t know how it would go but now I want to buy it right now! It’s so loved and i have the feeling I myself will love it so much! This is such a great review, makes me want to pick up the book even more 😉 I’m always up for laughs and great characters!

    Liked by 1 person

Comment on this persons's comment

