The Heir |||| Review

Title: The Heir (The Selection #4)

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre \ Themes: Futuristic, Dystopian, Royalty, Romance

Date Published: May 5th, 2015

Cover Rating: 4.5/5

Buy: The Heir (The Selection)

Synopsis: Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won Prince Maxon’s heart. Now the time has come for Princess Eadlyn to hold a Selection of her own. Eadlyn doesn’t expect anything like her parents’ fairy-tale love story…but as the competition begins, she may discover that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

The Selection | The Elite The One


I finished this book in two days. That’s how much I like it.

Also, I adore this cover. I really do. I think it’s my favorite out of all the selection books.

 

I loved Eadlyn. She is just so…I don’t even know how to write it out (if you were with me I’d use a series of hand motions and facial expressions to convey my feelings). Eadlyn – first of all – has a unique name that’s actually pronounceable! I mean, really, how often to we know right off the bat how to pronounce a unique name? Almost never. So this was definitely refreshing, while also being something new to me.

Eadlyn is also a self-improving character. Once she sees (or is told) what’s wrong with herself, she goes to work to fix it. She doesn’t rely on others to fix it, and I appreciate that. It’s also very fitting to her characters as a royal and future queen.

 

There was a relatable quote in here, and I just had to stop and mark the page so I could bring it up again. It made me go “Ah-Ha!”

And that line is:

 

“Fun math is an oxymoron.”

 

Eadlyn and I could not be in more agreement.

She also said something else, a little later. It was a line I just loved reading in this book (not a spoiler – read on with confidence!)

 

There is a part where Eadlyn is getting ready for the Report and she decides to use one of her own dress designs to wear that night.

Then, when she shows up at the studio, she says one of the most self-empowering things I’ve seen in my reading experience so far:

 

“…it was possibly the most beautiful I had ever felt.”

 

She didn’t say “Most beautiful I’ve ever looked”, but “Most beautiful I’ve ever felt”.

I loved that, and I feel like it sends a message to girls like me, who are my age, more than anyone else. I’m in that stage of life where I’m trying to find myself, and figure out just what my ‘beautiful’ is. This is something I really wish I saw more of in YA books, and just books in general.

 

The ending of this book makes me glad that I own the final book in the series. It ends at a really bad point, so I could just put that book down and pick up the next one right away.

I highly suggest that even if you weren’t a fan of The Selection series, you pick up this book. It’s as good, if not better.

 


Kiera Cass is the #1 bestselling author of The Selection series. Her first book – The Siren – was self-published in 2009, before being re-published in 2016.

Find out more about this author, including website links, on her Author Page: Kiera Cass

 

Comment on this persons's comment

