The Crown ||||| Review

Title: The Crown (The Selection Series #5)

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre \ Themes: Royalty, Romance, Dystopian\Futuristic

Date Published: May 3rd, 2016

Cover Rating: 4/5

Buy: The Crown

Synopsis: Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected.

 


I actually got this book from Barnes & Nobles, and it came with a poster that had this cover on one side, and The Heir cover on the other. Totally off-subject, but I was happy enough about it to point out.

 

Eadlyn’s character development was incredible. If you look back at her in the beginning of the fourth book, she’s completely different. In a weird way, I’m proud of her.

 

I expected more from the romance aspect, so that was a bit disappointing. It bothered me enough to take away a star, but not enough for me to dislike the book, or take it away from the author.

 

I loved the ending, and wouldn’t change a thing about it. In my copy, I also got an extra chapter, titled: 6 years later…

and that was very, very fulfilling. I’m not sure if that’s in every copy, but it was in mine. And it was awesome.

 

All-in-all, it was an amazing ending to the series, and I wouldn’t change a thing.

 


Kiera Cass is the #1 bestselling author of The Selection series. Her first book – The Siren – was self-published in 2009, before being re-published in 2016.

Find out more about this author, including website links, on her Author Page: Kiera Cass

12 thoughts on “The Crown ||||| Review

      1. I liked Kyle, and I assumed she would end up with him. But she did make a point; Kyle did want to leave. He probably would end up hating her after a while, and I would hate that more than anything. At least he did find a girl (I got an extra ‘Six Years Later’ in my copy of the book – it was way more fulfilling than ending it where it did) and he was happy in the end.

        I liked Henry too – He was just so perfect! But the whole language thing threw me off. It would have been a long time before a translator wasn’t needed, and, again, Eadlyn just seemed to think of him as a friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ooh I need to read the ‘Six Years Later’ – I didn’t even know that existed! I’m glad Kyle is happy, but I feel like he may have been happier with Eadlyn, maybe not. It really would’ve been a gamble if they had decided to get married. You’re right about Henry, too; he’s just so sweet, but the language barrier is, well, a large barrier. I’m sad the series is over!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I loved The Selection series but didn’t really enjoy The Heir. I still want to pick up The Crown because there has been so much hype over it and I still want to know who Eadlyn ends up with. I’m a little disappointed to hear you say it won’t be all about the romance but oh well I guess I’ll have to see for myself!

    Like

    1. You should! I found my opinions of America to be different from literally EVERYONE else, so just be prepared to disagree 🙂 I honestly think it’s my age, and connecting to her on a different level.

      Anyway, I think you would like the series. There’s more to it than the description says.

      Like

Comment on this persons's comment

