Mockingjay ||| Review

Title: Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3)

Author: Suzanne Collins

Genre \ Themes: Dystopian, Violent, Survival, Sci-Fi

Date Published: Aug. 24, 2010

Cover Rating: 4.5/5

Buy: Mockingjay

Synopsis: Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12.

The Hunger Games | Review | Catching Fire || Review


 

I expected so much more form this book.

Catching Fire was amazing, and I was looking forward to picking this book up. It disappointed me on so many levels.

A lot of the things that I didn’t like about this book are actually considered spoilers, so if you want to hear more detailed opinions (good and bad) my Mockingjay Discussion will be coming out soon!

 

It seemed like Katniss…wasn’t Katniss. If that makes any sense. Almost half of the book is spent with her moping around District 13, and that made it very hard to get through this book. Overall, I felt she didn’t really do anything – again, not going to get into it. Spoilers.

 

Now, going into this book, you expect death. Of course you do. But there was a certain death in here that threw me off so much I actually put the book down. For two weeks. It took me two weeks to recover.

Honestly, it’s like everyone you love dies. It’s like Collins went Oh, you like that character? Really? Well, President Snow decided to have a personal grudge against him today. Sorry!

Some of the deaths were just unnecessary. They didn’t push Katniss in any direction. They were just…there. I feel like Suzanne Collins wanted to connect with the reader on an emotional level – which is a good thing – but way overdid it.

 

Later in the book, Katniss makes choices that…just don’t make any sense. It was a total change of her character, and it made me mad at her.

 

I don’t like how things ended with some of her ‘friends’ – I fell like friendship could have been portrayed better.

 

The ending was so predictable. I could have just skipped to the end and I would have been fine.

I think what I’m going to do, is take my favorite parts of this book (I.E. the ending) and just stick it onto Catching Fire. I will be so much happier with the series, and I think it should have been that way in the beginning.

 

I’ve only seen Mockingjay Part One so far, mostly because I’m not emotionally ready for Part Two, but I think I honestly prefer the movies.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Mockingjay ||| Review

  1. Pingback: Mockingjay ||| Discussion |

Comment on this persons's comment

