The Fault in Our Stars | Review

Title: The Fault in Our Stars

Author: John Green

Genre \ Themes: Realistic, Cancer, Illness

Date Published: April 8th, 2014

Cover Rating: 4.5/5

Buy: The Fault in Our Stars

Synopsis: Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

 


 

So I’m a little late to the party on this one, but a friend of mine (Tyr) really loves this book and since she tends to like the same things I do, I decided to pick it up.

 

I liked Hazel as a protagonist. I didn’t overly love her, but I didn’t have any issues. She tended to be a bit of a downer, but, then again, this is the first book about Cancer that I’ve read, so maybe all the protagonists are like this?

Augustus was funny, and his metaphors really made me think. I really enjoyed him.

 

The writing style was quick and easy to follow. I like John Green’s writing, but I don’t think I’ll read anything else by him. Right now, at least.

 

I thought I knew the ending, because there was a post on Pinterest about it, and I assumed it meant one thing…then it meant another. I didn’t cry about this thing happening, but it still made me really sad.

One thing that did make me sad was this one line by Hazel’s mom. I kept hearing about this one line that she said, and a few times in the beginning I was like is that the line? How about that one? but when it came…that was the only time I teared up in this book. It was just so honest and…I can’t even describe it. I really can’t.

(No, watch, I’m totally off and just getting sentimental over a random line…)

 

Overall, it was good, but I don’t see what made it such a big hit. My hopes might have been a bit to high…

I do want to see the movie though. The movie looked really good!

 

But what did you think of The Fault in Our Stars?

Comment on this persons's comment

