P.S. I Like You | Review

Title: P.S. I Like You

Author: Kasie West

Genre \ Themes: Realistic, High School (is that a theme?), Contemporary

Date Published: July 26, 2016

Cover Rating: 4.5/5

Buy: P.S. I Like You

Synopsis: While spacing out in Chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk, and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters — sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery, and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…


3d-fonts

I got this book in the August Owlcrate Box. Thanks so much to Owlcrate introducing me to this book and author!

 

I started this book the day I got it, and finished it two days later. The writing style is easy to get lost in, and I really enjoyed it.

 

Lily (our protagonist) and I could be, like, best friends. We’re so alike! We both have a big, kind crazy family…she has two younger brothers and an older sister, I have three younger brothers and an older sister…

 

I found her to just be so relatable! There was one quote that she said (well, wrote) that pretty much sums up my relationship with my brothers. And that quote is…

I know I’ll soften soon because he’s the prince of the house and as aggravating as he is, I love his face.

I mean, come on. Anyone else relate to that? Anyone with siblings out there?

 

There was also none of the ‘Public Schooler Trope’ that you see everywhere in YA.

In case you didn’t know, I hate the typical ‘Public Schooler Trope’ that I see EVERYWHERE in realistic teen books. It’s the Trope where the main character, because he’s\she’s a teen, and a public schooler, has to swear and drink and smoke and sneak out at night.

Like, just because they’re a teen, it means that all make the wrong decisions? All of them? It’s obviously just an author pretending to be a teen, and not even accurately. I mean, I’ve never been to public school, but I seriously doubt it’s anything like that. At least, not commonly.

But Kasie West got it on point! I loved it! Her books are perfect if you’re new to teen books, or if you’re on the younger side of YA.

 

I love, love, LOVED the romance in this book! It was sweet, and fun to read about. AND it stayed realistic, which, let’s be honest, isn’t very common.

This book made me happy! There’s no other way to put it – I felt good while reading this book. I haven’t seen that much since I became a reviewer, but this fully gave me that feeling.

 

As you can tell by the rating, this is one of only three books on my Favorite Standalone Books Shelf – a high honor…sort of, maybe?

Anyway, I highly recommend this book. It’s funny, and heartwarming and written by a really great author.


Image result

💞Kasie West💞

Kasie West is the author of The Fill-In Boyfriend, as well as other bestsellers. Along with writing YA, she loves Junior Mints (Me too!).

I find Kasie West’s books are my favorite type of High School books. If you are 11 or 12, and are new to YA or to teen books, hers are a great start to the teen section. Much better for your soul 💕

4 thoughts on “P.S. I Like You | Review

  1. Pingback: August Wrap Up | 2016 |

  2. Pingback: Blogging Advice // Book Tag – A Teenager's Blog

Comment on this persons's comment

