Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

Hello and welcome! I’m Marrill, and this is the Mid-Year (sort of) Book Freak Out Tag.

I know, I know – it’s nearly September already, so it’s not really the MIDDLE of the year, but I want to do this tag anyway, so I guess you’re just going to have to deal with it 😉

Let’s do this thing!

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2016

I could choose a number of books, but I’m going to go with one of the only books I’ve given 5\5 this year – The Host by Stephenie Meyer.

I liked the Twilight Saga, but I loved this book. Loved it! A second book is up for debate, but it is a stand-alone that I highly recommend.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016

I know it’s not new, but it’s new to me, so I’m going with Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. I read the hunger Games trilogy this year, and this second book was by far my favorite.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

It’s not out yet, but I’m going with Heartless by Marissa Meyer – I’m super, super excited for this book! I love this author, and I’m counting the days until her new stand-alone comes out.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

The End of Olympus by Kate O’Hearn!

This is a series that I grew up with and adore! I was sad to hear this would be the last book – but it comes out on my birthday! Yay!

5. Biggest disappointment

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. There are a few books that I could have chosen, but this was a big one. I liked the first book, loved the second, but hated this third one. I pretty much pretend it never happened.

6. Biggest surprise

Haven by Kristi Cook. And not in the good way. It turns out it was about vampires, which is NOT what I expected at all. I mean, it’s basically a copy of Twilight. The love-relationship is the same, a lot of the characters are the same, and it just made me mad.

7. Favorite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Kiera Cass (author of The Siren and The Selection Series) & Kasie West (author of P.S. I Like You and more that I haven’t read).

8. Newest fictional crush

Uhhhmm…Maybe Ian from The Host or August from This Savage Song by Victoria Shwab.

9. Newest favorite character

Just one? Really? I like a lot of characters, so I’ll just make a list, and you can tell me you’re favorites in the comments:

America from The Selection

Kahlen from The Siren

Lia from The Kiss of Deception

August from This Savage Song

Inej from Six of Crows

Jesper from Six of Crows

Finnik from The Hunger Games (Catching Fire)

and probably more, but that’s what comes to mind.

10. Book that made you cry

Finnik Odair.

Need I say more?

11. Book that made you happy

P.S. I Like You by Kasie West.

This is the only book by this author that I’ve read and I loved it! I was trying to tell my mom about it, and all I could say was “This book made me happy.” There’s no other way to say it. It brightened my day, and I loved it.

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year

I haven’t actually seen a lot of film adaptions this year.

I’m going to change this question, and list one adaption…that I’m not sure how I feel about. Just Yet.

And that is the Maximum Ride movie coming out August 30th. I..have a lot of thoughts. Good and Bad. And I will give you guys a review and my thoughts soon – promise!

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year. (Booktube version: Favorite video you have done so far in this year)

I don’t know. I just started doing Character Inspired Clothes on Polyvore, and posting them on here, which people seem to like, so maybe one of those? (I have Shatter Me themed, Maximum Ride themed and Imagine Dragons themed).

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

Six of Crows has a beautiful cover! I just love looking at it 😊

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas is one that I want to get to before the end of the year.

I think most people have already done this tag, so I won’t tag anyone. But hey – if you want to do this tag, go ahead!


My Links:

Instagram | Goodreads | Pinterest | Polyvore

Comment on this persons's comment

