Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children | Review

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Genre \ Themes: Mystery, Dark, Peculiar (Ha, get it?)

Date Published: June 7, 2011

Cover Rating: 5/5

Graphic Novel Review:  Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #1

Buy: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Synopsis: A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.


 

I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while, but never got around to it. Then I saw the movie trailer, and decided to pick it up – because, let’s be honest, the movie looks amazing.

 

I didn’t really get into it until page 146 (for those of you who have read the book, you know the part). And because of that, I took away a star.

But once I did get into it, I couldn’t put it down.

 

I liked our Protagonist, Jacob, very much. Right from the beginning too, which was kind of weird, because he wasn’t…the best, in the first few chapters. He does go though a lot of character development as well, which was nice to see.

I liked the side characters as well – though I will say I almost always half-dreaded Miss Peregrine’s lines, because she has such a large vocabulary, I was guessing at some of it. Once I got the idea, though, it became easier to understand.

The photographs helped me picture the peculiar children, as well as the other characters, without getting in the way of my own mental image.

 

The story line was incredibly interesting. It was also pretty fast moving (more towards the second half, though) and the old photographs added to the story instead of dragging it down. The writing also just seemed to go perfectly hand-in-hand with the photos.
From the cover, you get the impression that it’s a darker book, but there were lighter parts as well, which I appreciate. It’s something you see in a lot of books with darker themes in them. I think the movie will get that light-hearted-ness across very well, and I am so excited to see it!

 

Overall, I really liked this book and didn’t hesitate to order the rest of them. I highly recommend this series.

 




Talk About This Book With Me Elsewhere!

Instagram

Pinterest

Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children | Review

  1. Pingback: Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children | Graphic Novel Review |

  2. Pingback: September Wrap-Up | 2016 |

  3. Pingback: Marvel Avengers Book Tag |

Comment on this persons's comment

