Movie Review | Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Image result for miss peregrine's movie poster

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Rating: PG-13

Release Date: September 30th, 2016

Genre: Fantasy\Adventure

Running Time: 2h 7m

Director: Tim Burton

Cast: Asa Butterfield, Eva Green, Ella Purnell + MORE


When his beloved grandfather leaves Jacob clues to a mystery that spans different worlds and times, he finds a magical place known as Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. But the mystery and danger deepen as he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers – and their terrifying enemies. Ultimately, Jacob discovers that only his own special peculiarity can save his new friends. Based on the novel Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, written by Ransom Riggs.

 

I saw this movie with my BFF who got me into the series. Maybe you’ve heard me mention her before – Tyr, also known as WonderWoman. In fact, she wrote a review herself! Here it is, before my review:

Personally I loved this movie, Tim Burton, I think, was the perfect person to make this movie. The casting was amazing! I could not have picked better actors myself. Asa Butterfield was awesome as Jake. He looked exactly how I pictured him. It didn’t bother me that they switched Emma and Olive’s powers. All in all, it was an awesome movie.

She has also read the book, by the way. Her links are at the bottom!

 

My review:

 


Actors


Obviously, this is one of the most important parts of a movie. And I know some of you were worried, because Olive and Emma had switched powers.

Honestly, I didn’t mind one bit. I think it worked excellently. It wasn’t just put in there for effect, there was a purpose to switching them, and I loved it.

Asa Butterfield as Jacob was…amazing. He did it perfectly. You can’t hear his accent, and Jacob’s personality from the book really shows.

Jacob’s grandfather was just how I pictured him. His voice, his manner, everything.

The children at the house were a bit different – Bronwyn was younger, Enoch and Fiona were older, Hugh and Fiona were younger… but I didn’t mind. They all played their parts without flaw. Their personalities came through – I noticed that especially with Enoch. Very well done.

Jacob’s parents were really well done. As well as the side characters. All-in-all, I can’t flaw any of the actors.

 


Wights & Hollows


Samuel L. Jackson played Barron. Who’s a Wight.

He was – I’m going to use this word again – PERFECT!

The Wights in general were done very well. Their white eyes weren’t too creepy or freaky, so that was done well.

Their whole story of how they came to be Wights and Hollows were changed, but I didn’t mind. It went with the story. There’s a lot of stuff to do with eyes, and through most of that I had to look away.

Not that it was particularly gruesome, but…eating eyes man. Ugh. I can barely stand to see people put contacts in.

 

The Hollows. Oh, man.

To be blunt, they freaked me the freak out.

They don’t have eyes and they’re limbs are all weird – I’m almost 14 and I was scared. I’s definitely say that if you’re 14-, have an adult watch with you or see it first. If you’re 10-, this isn’t the movie for you. Go watch Smurfs or something.

Nevertheless, I liked how they were done. Very fitting, and made for an excellent climax.

 


Relationships


I was looking forward to seeing the relationship between Fiona and Hugh. They ended up being too young.

But we do get another relationship besides Jacob and Emma, but I won’t say who in case you haven’t seen the movie.

Jacob and Emma’s relationship was just like in the books, and I loved it. Very well done, without messing up the storyline.

 


Setting


The settings were AMAZING.

Literally, just how I pictured. Miss Peregrine’s house was perfect and I can’t express my love for it enough.

Even the settings that weren’t in the book were great. Very well done.


Storyline


They did change this a bit, but overall, it was well done.

Sometimes in book-to-movie adaptions, the storyline gets lost. Directors will throw things in to appease the fans, but those things don’t do anything for the storyline, or the movie in general.

Not in this case.

Everything that happens, happens for a reason. There’s no loose ends, which was good, and really completed the film.

Take Emma and Olive’s powers. They were switched, right? It worked so well! I didn’t even mind! Both of those powers being switched came back again in the end, and had a purpose. It didn’t just sit there annoying the fandom.

Tim Burton did this very well. Any other director would have totally screwed this up, but he did it without flaw. I loved it.

A lot of people want a second movie, but with the way things ended, it’s pretty well wrapped up.

I’m currently reading Hollow City, and how the movie ends seems like the way that Library of Souls will end (haven’t read it yet) so if they do make another movie, it probably won’t be as accurate as this one.

Still, I would watch it. No matter how bad it looked.


I gave this book-to-film…

𝟧/𝟧

I loved every part of it, and have plans to buy it. I saw it with Tyr, as I said before. We fangirled in the theater together. I’m sure we were slightly annoying to people around us, but we really were trying to be quiet!

What did you think? Like, or dislike? Favorite part? Favorite character?



Tyr’s Links:

Check her out! She’s amazing!

Polyvore (where she makes outfits for her fan-fictions): Little Hobbit Under The Stars

Quotev (where her fan-fictions are): WonderWoman

My Links:

Instagram

Pinterest

Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Movie Review | Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Comment on this persons's comment

