Hollow City || Review

Title: Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2)

Author: Ransom Riggs

Genre \ Themes: Realistic Fantasy (sort of), Adventure

Date Published: January 14, 2014

Cover Rating: 4/5

Buy: Hollow City

Synopsis: September 3, 1940. Ten peculiar children flee an army of deadly monsters. And only one person can help them—but she’s trapped in the body of a bird. The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. There, they hope to find a cure for their beloved headmistress, Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom.


As much as I liked Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, I liked Hollow City so much more!

I definitely found it more tense and action-packed, which I think a lot of readers will enjoy.

 

Again, a little hard to get into it, but I got into it faster than I got into the first book. I know a lot of people stop at the second book, but I seriously encourage you to stick it out and finish it.

 

The new photos and peculiar were so cool! As they traveled, you got to see more of the Peculiar world, and more of how the whole system operates. It was excellent world building.

 

I can’t say a whole lot, what with it being the second book and all, but definitely give it a shot. It’s very good, and I picked up the third book right after finishing this one, because I just needed to stay in the world.

Comment on this persons's comment

